Dear Blog,

piboidmo12winnerlargeI’m sorry I have neglected you. But writing called. Hooray! PiBoIdMo is finished (Picture Book Idea Month hosted by Tara Lazar), and I wrote down 31 ideas. Hats off to Tara for all her time and energy to this challenge! Not all of my ideas are wonderful, but maybe I can flesh out some of the ideas into picture book manuscripts. I also finished another 2 guided reading books in one week plus a requested book proposal.

Now to some noteworthy news!!

My writing mentor and friend, Nancy I. Sanders, has a new book out: Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books. It’s sort of like a sequel to her Yes, You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career. 

nancy's bookMy copy will be coming in the mail this month, and I’m looking forward to learning new things about the writing craft. I had the privilege of being in a face-to-face writing group with Nancy and an online picture book group.

It snowed a tiny bit today, and tomorrow is only supposed to be 29! My kids and I are having fun putting up Christmas decor and hanging advent ornaments.

I hope all my friends have a happy December, full of making memories and wonderful writing!

