I’m ecstatic about this new year 2013 and all it beholds! Why? I have some books coming out this year, which I’ve already alluded to in previous posts. More about that in upcoming posts.

12-x-12-new-badgeI’m also involved in the 12×12 again, headed by Julie Hedlund. If’ you’re interested, you can register here. We are picture book writers who will attempt to write one new story each month. I participated last year and now have 12 manuscripts to revise.

One of my goals or words for 2013 is PROACTIVE. I learned this from Stephen Covey’s book, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. Being proactive is a character quality of effective people and leaders. If you want to be published, you have to be proactive.  I wrote about this on Debbie Ohi’s blog in November here. So this year, I want to submit my stories more and think of new queries and/or proposals. I’m also learning about new venues in which to write. Currently, I’m writing for middle school distance learning, go figure!

I’m also reading two books on the craft of writing: Second Sight by Cheryl Klein and Yes You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books by Nancy I. Sanders.

All my writing wouldn’t be possible without inspiration. God has led me on this journey. I have a devotional blog here.

May this be a successful writing year for each one of you. I leave you with a quote from another author…

“The writing you don’t do today is lost forever. Tomorrow’s may be better–but it may depend on the less exciting groundwork you can lay today.” by Kristi Holl

Go forth and write!

